The Indiana Citizen

The Crossroads of Civic Engagement

Am I registered to vote?

Being an Indiana Citizen starts with registering to vote. Register here or confirm registration.


The Indiana Citizen is a nonpartisan, non-profit platform dedicated to increasing the number of informed, engaged Hoosier citizens. We are operated by the Indiana Citizen Education Foundation, Inc., a 501(c)(3) public charity.



Ann and Bill Moreau

Ann and Bill Moreau are the co-founders of ICEF. Ann is a retired educator, association executive and public servant. Bill has been a newspaper reporter, college instructor, public servant and lawyer. Bill serves as ICEF’s president. They have been married for 41 years, and have three married children and six grandchildren.

Jeanne Kelsay

Jeanne Kelsay owns Kelsay Consulting, Inc., a public relations, promotion and marketing consultancy. She was president of Curtis Publishing Company for 10 years and the founding director of the Indiana AIDS Fund. She and Rod have two married sons, three grandsons and a granddaughter.

Russell Cox

Russell Cox is a founding member of Cox, Sargeant & Burns, P.C. He and Mary Lou have two children.

Alan Mills

Alan Mills is a senior partner at Barnes & Thornburg LLP. He and Sally have two married children and a granddaughter.



Bill Moreau, Publisher

Bill Moreau is the co-founder and president of the Indiana Citizen Education Foundation, the 501(c)(3) behind The Indiana Citizen. He is a retired lawyer who led his law firm’s higher education practice. He also spent almost four decades in the Statehouse, both as a state official when Evan Bayh was Secretary of State and Governor and as a lobbyist for entities as diverse as nonprofits serving the poor and Fortune 100 companies. He is a Purdue graduate whose first job was reporting for the Hartford (Conn.) Times. He attended law school at Georgetown University while working for Senator Birch Bayh. Bill and his wife, Ann, have three married children and six grandchildren.

Kevin Morgan, Editor in Chief

Kevin Morgan, a journalism graduate of Indiana University, worked 29 years at The Indianapolis Star, where he oversaw coverage of news in communities throughout central Indiana. As a reporter and later as an editor, he played a key role in the coverage of Indiana politics, elections and government. His awards include a first place from the Associated Press Managing Editors of Indiana for coverage of political patronage in Indiana’s license branches. His resume also includes six years with the nonpartisan Indiana Legislative Services Agency, where he oversaw editing and publishing services to the Indiana General Assembly. He and his wife, Madelyn, have two married sons and a grandson.



David Bangert

David Bangert recently retired from the Lafayette Journal & Courier, where he worked as a reporter, columnist and editor for 31 years.

Bob Caylor

Bob Caylor is a writer and photographer for Easterseals Arc of Northeast Indiana, a consultant to Lumina Foundation and formerly a columnist and reporter for the Fort Wayne News-Sentinel.

Megan Fernandez

Megan Fernandez is director of editorial operations at Indianapolis Monthly/Emmis Communications.

Steve Hinnefeld

Steve Hinnefeld is an adjunct instructor at the Media School at Indiana University, and formerly a media specialist at Indiana University and reporter for the Bloomington Herald-Times.

Kathleen Schuckel

Kathleen Schuckel is an Indianapolis educator, researcher and writer, formerly of The Indianapolis Star and The Indianapolis News.

Jon Schwantes

Jon Schwantes is host of Indiana Lawmakers and news analyst for Indiana Week in Review on WFYI, and formerly a reporter and editor at The Indianapolis Star and The Indianapolis News.

Bill Theobald

Bill Theobald is a Washington, D.C., -based journalist, formerly of the nonprofit news website The Fulcrum, the USA TODAY Washington Bureau and The Indianapolis Star. 

Greg Weaver

Greg Weaver is managing editor of the Indianapolis Business Journal, and formerly government and politics editor at The Indianapolis Star and Statehouse bureau chief at The Evansville Courier.

Janet Williams

Janet Williams recently retired as executive editor of at Franklin College. She formerly worked in corporate communications for Cummins Inc., and as a reporter and editor at The Indianapolis Star.



  • Wiiliam G. Andrews, Columbia College
  • Mitchell Carter, Ball State University
  • Parker Hershberger, Dartmouth College
  • Hugh Pebworth, Indiana University
  • Ashley Pigatti, Calvin University
  • Matthew Pruitt, Boston University
  • Emily Schabes, DePauw University
  • Ethan Scroggins, Vanderbilt University